News in Information Technology Security:

On October 13th CompTIA announced that it is adding new material to the Security+. Much of the Security+ material from the test of the past couple of years will remain. The new 2008 version of the exam adds new questions that are based around knowing how to react to and handle specific security issues and breaches. The previous Security+ exam is more based on simply being able to recognize these issues. The new exam covers six major objective areas: Network Infrastructure, Systems Security, Cryptography, Access Control, Assessments and Audits, and Organizational Security.

This change greatly affects those federal employees and government contractor employees who fall under the requirement of the DoD Directive 8570 who are obligated to achieve the Security+ Certification. Now, those who had prepared for the older version of the test are going to need some additional study time.

*Read CompTIA’s Press Relese Here*


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s