Here is a compiled list of Information Security certifications that will help you stand out against your competition as you work towards advancing your career in Information Security. Not only that, but these certifications will make your knowledge and skills crucial to the company you work for. Different levels of experience are required for each certification as well as perquisites that can be met by completing Cybersecurity training courses. Read more to find out which certification is the best fit for your career.


The CompTIA Security+ certification is a great place to jump start your career in Information Security. This certification will prove that you have the knowledge and skills to implement and monitor security on networks and operating systems, as well as respond to security breaches that may arise.

The Security+ certification training is ideal for:

  • Network Administrators
  • Security Administrators
  • Information Assurance Professionals

CEH (Certified Ethical Hacker)

The EC-Council Certified Ethical Hacker certification is the most advanced hacking course on the market! The CEH certification will exhibit your ability to think like a hacker (a trusted one, of course). This certification will show that you are qualified to scan, test, hack and secure a network.

The CEH certification training is ideal for:

  • Security Officers
  • Auditors
  • Security Professionals
  • Site administrators

CISSP (Certified Information Security Professional)

The (ISC) ² CISSP certification is intended for experienced security professionals. It proves that an individual has in-depth technical and managerial skills and credibility to develop, engineer, implement, and manage information security policies and procedures to prevent attacks.

The CISSP certification is ideal for (to name a few):

  • Security Manager
  • IT Director/Manager
  • Security Auditor
  • Chief Information Security Officer
  • Network Architect

Check out this free CASP vs. CISSP White Paper from TrainACE.

CISM (Certified Information Security Manager)

The ISACA CISM certification is one of the highest paying and in demand IT certifications. The CISM certification validates professionals’ information security management expertise. This certification is highly desired by government agencies and private business. CISM’s manage, design, oversee, and asses an enterprise’s information security.

The CISM certification is ideal for:

  • Information Security professionals with at least 5 years of experience in IS management.